Appendix 3: Good Practice Example

Committee for Professional & Personal Development, Department of Psychology

The remit of the Committee is:

- To oversee the implementation of agreed actions on gender equality and to steer the Department towards the position where it could apply for an Athena SWAN gold award.
- 2. To advise and support the Department's Early Career Researchers (ECR) Forum. http://www.york.ac.uk/psychology/research/ecrf/
- 3. To generate recommendations for policy and practice within the Department on issues such as Mentorship, Performance Review, Training Opportunities, and the Concordat to Support the Career Development of Researchers.

The Committee draws its membership from across a wide range of seniority within the Department. It meets once a term and reports to Departmental Staff Meetings in whose agenda there is a standing item for a report from the Chair of the Committee. The Committee grew out of a working group, which Professor Gerry Altmann chaired, which supported Professor Beth Jefferies in developing the successful renewal of the Department's Athena SWAN Silver Award in November 2011.

In the time since it was established, the Committee's main achievements have been in supporting the ECR Forum which has continue to thrive, in defining an alternative Performance Review Form which some members of staff have found useful, and in helping the Head of Department to define mentorship roles.

Following the resignation of Professor Altmann to take up a post at the University of Connecticut, the Head of Department is acting temporarily as Chair of the Committee to allow others to direct their energies to renewing the Department's Athena SWAN Award. The remit and membership of the Committee will be redefined once the renewal has been submitted.

Current membership (04/09/2014):

Acting Chair – Prof Q Summerfield, Head of Department
Chair of Dept Research Committee – Prof S Tipper (ex officio)
Chair of Graduate Teaching – Dr S-A Rueschemeyer (ex officio)
Chair of ECR Forum – Ms E Holmes (ex officio)
Teaching Fellows – Dr M Warmington
Lecturers - Dr T Hartley, Dr K Evans
Postdoctoral Research Fellow – Dr R Millman